Keynote: Why Target the Public Sector?

Colette Murphy, Executive Director of the Atkinson Foundation


Panel 1: Municipalities Implementing Fair Wage Policies

Moderated by Trish Hennessy, director, Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives' Ontario office


Mark Piplica, Manager, Fair Wage Office - City of Toronto

Deanna Ogle, Executive Director, Living Wage For Families

Mark Weingartner, Senior Policy Analyst, City of Hamilton


Panel 2 Introduction: Public Sector Employers and the Living Wage

Introduction by Dave Watson, Head of Policy and Public Affairs at UNISON Scotland

View/download Dave's slide deck here.

Panel 2: Public Sector Employers and the Living Wage

Moderated by Tom Cooper, Hamilton Poverty Roundtable


Don Wells Emeritus Professor, Labour Studies and Political Science at McMaster University

Alex Johnstone, Trustee, Hamilton-Wentworth District School Board

Dave Watson, Head of Policy and Public Affairs at UNISON Scotland


Panel 3: A Business Case for the Living Wage

Moderated by Jan Mowbray


Damin Starr, Owner, Pre-line Processing

Helmi Ansari, Owner, Grosche

Mara Shaw, Executive Director of Loving Spoonful


Workshop: Living Wage at Election Time and Mapping Out Your Campaign

Deanna Ogle, Executive Director of Living Wage for Families and Tom Cooper, Director of the Hamilton Poverty Roundtable

2018 is a year of elections—provincial and municipal. This workshop will focus on how to maximize this opportunity and how to start a public sector campaign once elections are over.

Tom's slides.

Deanna's slides.

Wrap-up Session

A summary of the day's proceedings hosted by Deirdre Pike

February 23, 2018 at 8:30am - 4:30pm
Art Gallery Burlington
1333 Lakeshore Rd
Burlington, ON L7S 1A9
Google map and directions
Craig Pickthorne · · 416-655-7609
Colette Murphy Jennifer Cameron Melissa Cameron Deirdre Pike Mara Shaw Grosche Alex Johnstone Deanna Ogle Mark Piplica Jeffrey Martin Alice Grottoli Maureen Weinberger Carole Van Loan Sarah Sabihuddin Pam Wolf Francesca Figliuzzi Roxanne Bond Damin Starr Leena Sharma Seth Ryan Erb Adaoma Patterson Kelly Bidwell Lisa Lanthier Devon Tamasi Melissa Riewald Kay Dyson Tam Lyn Smith Tom Cooper Don Wells Melvin Webber Peter McDonald Kaylie Tiessen Lesley Sprague Flow Office Wisdom Randalin Ellery Rita Thompson Jennifer Sweedler Vanessa Bilenduke Ted Hildebrandt Tara Kainer Anne Coleman Linda Terry Greg deGroot-Maggetti Mark Weingartner

Will you come?

Showing 50 reactions

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.